Williamson Wedding : Houston, TX

I’ve second shot weddings with Kori from Motley Melange several times, so when I found out that she had recommended me to Lindsay from My Story Keeper, I knew we were in for a fun wedding! Olga and Kevin’s wedding was just that. The ceremony was held at the historic St. Paul’s United Methodist Church, and the groom’s father officiated. When we arrived, we were informed that there was to be no flash photography of any kind, and that we could only shoot from the balcony. Hmm. I love a good challenge! I was able to use my 24-105 lens for the wide shots, and I borrowed Lindsay’s 70-200 for the closer up shots. I think that lens may be my next purchase…

The reception was held at the Petroleum Club. I’ve shot here once before with Jenna from My Happy Lens and I absolutely love this location! It’s on the 43rd floor of the Exxon/Mobil building in downtown Houston and at sunset it is just magical! Olga and Kevin met at University of Texas where they were both Chemistry majors. Needless to say, there were a lot of jokes made about how much “chemistry” they had together. The bride is Russian, so it was neat to see the traditional Russian touches that were included at the reception including Russian dancers and a bread ceremony. Even the table assignment cards had nesting dolls attached for the guests to take home with them. I also learned the tradition of when the crowd yells ‘gorko’, the bride and groom are supposed to kiss. This happened quite a bit during the reception. 🙂

Other vendors include:

Wedding Coordinator: Jolene Burns

Florist: Petals By Design

Cake: Edible Designs By Jessie

DJ: LCA Entertainment

Russian Dancers: Sunrise Dance

Leave a Reply

