Preparing For A Wedding

If you contact me via email or by phone and inquire about having me take your wedding photos, not only are you going to have questions for me, but I’ll have a few for you as well. For the purpose of this blog, I’ve decided to recommend a few questions that brides should ask photographers, along with what I will ask you in return. Sound good? Let’s get started…

Your Questions for Me:

  • Do you offer the option of a second (or third) photographer?
    • My response: “Yes. All of my wedding packages include a second ‘shooter’. I like knowing that I always have backup.”

second-shooter

  • How do you treat social media?
    • My response: “In every wedding contract, it states that I have the right to use the photographs from a wedding in any way I see fit. If you don’t want your photos on my website, Facebook, or the like, please just let me know in advance and I’ll make sure to keep your photos private.”
  • Can I see your portfolio?
    • My response: “Absolutely. You can get a pretty good idea of what a wedding looks like from my blog. I can never seem to limit the amount of photos I include. But if you’d like to see a wedding in its entirety, I can show you a few of those too.”
  • What is your policy on Aunt Fanny? (“Aunt Fanny” is anyone attending the wedding who has a nice camera, but is not a professional photographer and is taking photos during the event and acting like they are the hired help)
    • My response: “Some people like to simply attend weddings and let the memories remain just that – memories. But then there are other wedding guests who want to document the entire situation like they are reporting back to the President on it. I personally don’t mind “Aunt Fanny”, “Step-Cousin Willy”, or anyone else taking photos at a wedding. However, please be respectful of the fact that I am being paid to be there and document an important event. If you stand in front of my lens during the ceremony, I will either move around you or politely ask you to shift to the left a little. We’re all there to enjoy the day.”guest-in-the-way
  • Any “What would you do if…” type questions.
    • My response: “It never hurts to be prepared. I always have backup equipment. I can find an alternative location if it’s suddenly raining and we were supposed to be outdoors for the formal family photos. I’m pretty good at thinking on my toes when and if a crisis occurs. Whatever the ‘What if?’, I can handle it. Just ask.”
  • What made you choose the photography business?
    • My response: “I’ve always loved taking photos. Always. I chose to turn my little hobby into a business because I felt that good quality photos should be accessible to everyone; no matter their price range. This is why I am priced so low. I love taking photos. I love the joy that people get when they see their photos and all the memories of that day come flooding back to them.

My Questions for You:

Tell me about you individually and as a couple.

  • How did you meet?
  • What do you enjoy doing together?
  • How did he propose?
  • What makes you as a couple unique?

8937

Tell me about your wedding.

  • What is the color scheme of your wedding?
  • What does your wedding dress look like?
  • Who are your wedding vendors?
  • Are there any specific details/surprises that you are really excited about?
  • If you had to choose one photo to walk away from your wedding day with, what would it be?
  • What is the most anticipated moment of your wedding day?

two become one

Tell me about what you expect from me.

  • What do you hope to get out of the experience with me as your photographer?
  • What style of photographer are you looking for?

Wedding planning isn’t for the faint of heart. Hopefully this question and answer period has helped you in planning your big day!

One thought on “Preparing For A Wedding

Leave a Reply

