Then and Now

I’ve heard before that you should never compare your work to someone else, but rather compare yourself to where you’ve come from. Man, I have come a long way since I started. Here’s an example.

Background: The date: June 2011. This is my from my first “photo shoot”. The model: my brother. He was graduating from Alvin High School the next year and my mom said that I was just the right price for his photos – free. He had no idea what he wanted to do for photos, so we drove around the high school taking photos there. This was my first time to get out with my new manual mode shooting skills and my new Canon T1i camera and take photos. In fact, the file number for this image is 80. At the time I took the photo, I was SO proud of it. It was in focus, it had composition, and I didn’t cut any of his appendages off in the frame. Go me!

Now when I look at this image, I cringe. I see shadows on his face (I never shoot in wide open sun now – especially not in the middle of June!), the photo isn’t sharp and crisp like I like it, and it tells absolutely nothing about him and his personality.

Where I began

I’d like to think that I’ve come quite a ways since this photo was taken. Now, I only shoot at certain times of the day if I can help it, my camera equipment is continually upgrading (so I’m no longer getting that fuzziness I hate), and I only occasionally cut my subjects’ body parts off. 🙂

The image below is one of my seniors I shot this year. Jordan‘s photo shoot was light years from where I began. I was so much more relaxed. I wasn’t tense and trying to figure out what to do next. I knew where the good spots were for backdrops. I knew where and when the sun was setting and scheduled our time and location to match. And last but not least, I found out beforehand that Jordan was into fashion and I knew that I wanted to showcase that.

senior fashion photo shoot

I’ve learned a lot in the last couple years and I am continuing to learn more and more every day. Thank you for your support and guidance through this journey!

Leave a Reply

