Behind the Scenes: How I Plan For Shooting Your Wedding

The contract is signed. The date is booked. Now you can check another thing off your list. This is where my work on your wedding begins.

Right after you book your wedding I review what gear I will need. Sometimes venues have certain restrictions on what lighting I can use, where I can stand and can’t stand, and when photography is allowed. I have to make sure to have the equipment needed for this. Sometimes this means renting extra gear, and I have to do that in far enough advance so that I am guaranteed to get what I need.

If you have a Pinterest board, I’ll look at it from time to time so see what photos ideas you like and get a feel for the types of photos you would like to be taken at your wedding. Of course I have my own style and I’m not going to copy anything you pin (that would be plagiarism), but it’s good for me to make a mental note of types of photos that you would like specifically.

About a month before your special day, I’m going to send you a form for you to fill out. This will tell me a timetable of your wedding day’s events, a list of who’s who, and any other little tidbits of information you think I should know (like is the church going to be lighted by only candlelight, do your divorced parents have problems being in the same room, etc.).

A few weeks before your nuptials, I meet with my second shooter and we map out a game plan for the wedding day. No two weddings are the same, so the plan changes every time we get together. Starbucks is usually imperative during these meetings. We discuss what time we’re going to meet there, what photos the couple is really excited about getting taken, and we both have copies of everything so that we can look over it and make sure we have every photo that we need.

starbucks

Leave a Reply

